bafta joaquin phoenix bafta winners 2020

BAFTAs 2020: Joaquin Phoenix calls out lack of diversity during acceptance speech for Best Actor

Joaquin Phoenix delivered a bold acceptance speech after winning Best Actor at the 2020 BAFTA awards.

Phoenix, who starred in Joker, one of the 2019’s most popular films both sales-wise and culturally, used his acceptance speech to discuss the lack of representation across the nominee’s list. All 20 nominees were white while no women were nominated in the Best Director category for the seventh year in a row.

Despite stating Joaquin Phoenix that he was grateful to receive the BAFTA honour, here’s what he had to say: “I also feel conflicted – we send a very clear message to people of colour that ‘you’re not welcome here. I don’t think anybody wants a handout or preferential treatment. People just want to be acknowledged and appreciated and respected for their work.


“I’m ashamed to say that I’m part of the problem because I’ve not ensured that the sets I’ve worked on are inclusive. We really have to do the hard work to truly understand systemic racism. I think that it is the obligation of the people who have created and perpetuated and benefited from a system of oppression to dismantle it… so that’s on us.”

The BBC report that a person who ‘self-identifies as a BAFTA judge immersed in diversity issues’ admitted that only he only watches around a quarter of the 269 films which are put forward to him for consideration each year. Watching 269 films would take the equivalent of 65 working days (538 hours). This person also revealed that Queen & Slim, which was eligible for consideration, is ‘still sitting on his desk unseen’.

In one of the evening’s best moments, star of Top Boy season 3 and Blue Story, Micheal Ward, took home EE’s Rising Star Award and delivered a heartfelt speech:

Here is the full list of winners from the 2020 BAFTA awards:


Best film

WINNER: 1917

The Irishman


Once Upon a Time… In Hollywood



Outstanding British film

WINNER: 1917


For Sama


Sorry We Missed You

The Two Popes

Leading actress

WINNER: Renée Zellweger – Judy

Jessie Buckley – Wild Rose

Scarlett Johansson – Marriage Story

Saoirse Ronan – Little Women

Charlize Theron – Bombshell


Leading actor

WINNER: Joaquin Phoenix – Joker

Leonardo DiCaprio – Once Upon a Time… In Hollywood

Adam Driver – Marriage Story

Taron Egerton – Rocketman

Jonathan Pryce – The Two Popes


Supporting actress

WINNER: Laura Dern – Marriage Story

Scarlett Johansson – Jojo Rabbit

Florence Pugh – Little Women

Margot Robbie – Bombshell

Margot Robbie – Once Upon a Time… In Hollywood


Supporting actor

WINNER: Brad Pitt – Once Upon a Time In Hollywood

Tom Hanks – A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

Anthony Hopkins – The Two Popes

Al Pacino – The Irishman

Joe Pesci – The Irishman



WINNER: Sam Mendes – 1917

Martin Scorsese – The Irishman

Todd Phillips – Joker

Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood

Bong Joon-Ho – Parasite


EE Rising Star Award (voted for by the public)

WINNER: Micheal Ward


Jack Lowden

Kaitlyn Dever

Kelvin Harrison Jr


Outstanding debut by a British writer, director or producer

WINNER: Bait – Mark Jenkin, Kate Byers, Linn Waite

For Sama – Waad al-Kateab, Edward Watts

Maiden – Alex Holmes

Only You – Harry Wootliff

Retablo – Álvaro Delgado-Aparicio


Film not in the English language

WINNER: Parasite

The Farewell

For Sama

Pain and Glory

Portrait of a Lady On Fire



WINNER: For Sama

American Factory

Apollo 11

Diego Maradona

The Great Hack


Animated film


Frozen 2

A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon

Toy Story 4


Original screenplay

WINNER: Parasite – Han Jin Won, Bong Joon-ho

Booksmart – Susanna Fogel, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins, Katie Silberman

Knives Out – Rian Johnson

Marriage Story – Noah Baumbach

Once Upon a Time… In Hollywood – Quentin Tarantino


Adapted screenplay

WINNER: Jojo Rabbit – Taika Waititi

The Irishman – Steven Zaillian

Joker – Todd Phillips, Scott Silver

Little Women – Greta Gerwig

The Two Popes – Anthony McCarten


Original score

WINNER: Joker – Hildur Gudnadottir

1917 – Thomas Newman

Jojo Rabbit – Michael Giacchino

Little Women – Alexandre Desplat

Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – John Williams



WINNER: 1917 – Roger Deakins

The Irishman – Rodrigo Prieto

Joker – Lawrence Sher

Le Mans ’66 – Phedon Papamichael

The Lighthouse – Jarin Blaschke


Costume design

WINNER: Little Women – Jacqueline Durrant

The Irishman – Christopher Peterson, Sandy Powell

Jojo Rabbit – Mayes C Rubeo

Judy – Jany Temime

Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood – Arianne Phillips


WINNER: Le Mans ’66 – Andrew Buckland, Michael McCusker

The Irishman – Thelma Schoonmaker

Jojo Rabbit – Tom Eagles

Joker – Jeff Groth

Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood – Fred Raskin

Production design

WINNER: 1917 – Lee Sandales

The Irishman – Bob Shaw, Regina Graves

Jojo Rabbit – Ra Vincent, Nora Sopková

Joker – Mark Friedberg, Kris Moran

Once upon a Time… In Hollywood – Barbara Ling, Nancy Haigh


Make-up and hair

WINNER: Bombshell – Vivian Baker, Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan

1917 – Naomi Donne

Joker – Kay Georgiou, Nicki Ledermann

Judy – Jeremy Woodhead

Rocketman – Lizzie Yianni Georgiou


WINNER: 1917 – Scott Millan, Oliver Tarney, Rachael Tate, Mark Taylor, Stuart Wilson

Joker – Tod Maitland, Alan Robert Murray, Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic

Le Mans ’66 – David Giammarco, Paul Massey, Steven A. Morrow, Donald Sylvester

Rocketman – Matthew Collinge, John Hayes, Mike Prestwood Smith, Danny Sheehan

Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – David Acord, Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio, Stuart Wilson, Matthew Wood


Best special visual effects

WINNER: 1917 – Greg Butler, Guillaume Rocheron, Dominic Tuohy

Avengers: Endgame – Dan Deleeuw, Dan Sudick

The Irishman – Leandro Estebecorena, Stephane Grabli, Pablo Helman

The Lion King – Andrew R Jones, Robert Legato, Elliot Newman, Adam Valdez

Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – Roger Guyett, Paul Kavanagh, Neal Scanlan, Dominic Tuohy


Best casting

WINNER: Joker – Shayna Markowitz

Marriage Story – Douglas Aibel, Francine Maisler

Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood – Victoria Thomas

The Personal History of David Copperfield – Sarah Crowe

The Two Popes – Nina Gold


British short film

WINNER: Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone (If You’re a Girl)




The Trap


British short animation

WINNER: Grandad Was A Romantic

In Her Boots

The Magic Boat


Outstanding Contribution

Andy Serkis

0 0 votes
Article Rating